Whenever you save changes to an app, you automatically publish them only for yourself and anyone else who has permissions to edit the app. When you finish making changes, you explicitly publish them to make them available to everyone with whom the app is shared.

For information about how to share an app, see Share an app.

Save changes to an app

In PowerApps Studio, click or tap Save on the File menu (on the left edge), and then follow either of these steps:

  • If you've never saved the app before, provide a name for it, and then click or tap Save.

    Save new app

  • If the app has ever been saved, click or tap Save.

    Save updated app

PowerApps can also periodically save the app every 2 minutes. If you have saved the app once, PowerApps will continue to save a version of the app periodically without requiring the user to press or tap the Save action. Authors can enable or disable the Auto save setting from the Account tab on the File menu.

Auto save setting

Publish an app

  1. In PowerApps Studio, click or tap Save on the File menu (on the left edge), and then click or tap Publish this version.

    Publish app

  2. In the Publish dialog box, tap or click Publish this version to publish the app to all users with whom the app is shared.

Review Publish

Identify the live version

In powerapps.com, click or tap Apps on the File menu (on the left edge), click or tap the details icon for an app, and then click or tap the Versions tab.

The Live version is published for everyone with whom the app is shared. The most recent version of any app is available only to those who have edit permissions for it.

Publish from portal

To publish the most recent version, click or tap Publish this version, and then click or tap Publish this version in the Publish dialog box.

Next steps